Firsts

Leave a comment

December 15, 2012 by christopherbaron

Why a website? Why a blog? What is going on here?

I am not exactly the type of person to have a website.  Maybe everyone says this.  Maybe the effort that this websiting requires will bring some healing and courage to my introverted self.  No matter what, for me, it’s a first.

When my first poem was published in the Fall 1995, Edition of Aethlon, the Journal of Sports Literature, I was amazed and afraid. It occurred to me for the first time that my simple poem, “Waking the Boats,” might actually mean something to someone else.  Maybe it was just for someone who was a college rower, who could understand the maniacal addiction of 5AM practices, glassy water, biting cold, burning saltwater, and calorie deficits.  Maybe it’s simpler.  Maybe it’s just about connection.  Maybe through images and language, someone might relate to the humbling stillness of morning, or the emboldening power of teamwork or the transformative nature of giving everything win or lose.  It’s so much easier to just hang on the oar.

2012-12-03 12.26.07

because this makes it look more important

2012-12-03 12.25.46

I am realizing that “firsts” are kind of a “thing” for me.  I have a bunch of poems in this theme, “First Kiss,” “First Canvas,” and others that will never darken these or any pages, and always there is this theme of courage

Now with the release of my first book, I am choosing another first.  This website is a place where a lot of the work I get to do in my life can come together and be shared, a place where I get to learn.  This may be another “first” for me, starting this, and I am still both amazed and afraid, but I am also keenly thankful for the support of those who may be reading this. I know that I am not doing it alone.

Leave a Reply

